Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

"

But The Quest for Beauty is a Beast.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good-Bye Scale

I should be gone. My aunt should be here right now, but she isn't. I will be back in a few days and I will update then. I am scared to go on the trip. I am afraid that I will continue to binge, gain weight, etc... That I will not have the energy for this trip.

Last night I ate everything in sight. I promised myself that I wouldn't, I even took some insulin to bring down my sugars after I purged. But it was no use. I needed to eat to sleep. I needed to sleep to have energy today. I cannot sleep without eating. I cannot sleep without high sugars. I can't keep energy without insulin...

What a catch-22. But here is something amazing. I am leaving behing the scale. I have lugged that thing all over the country with me, even snuck it into medical hospitals. But I decided I am leaving it behind. It seems to be screaming at me from the bathroom. "You bitch! You need me! You are nothing without me. You will get fat. You will lose all control!"

But I know this is not true. It is the keeper. The torturer. Like an abusive parent, I love it but I hate it. So I say good-bye. I can survive without it for a few days, can't I?

I can. And I will. Some will scoff at this, thinking, "It is just a scale. Jeez, let go of the security blanket already." But it is so much more than that. It has become the dictator of my life. I am ruled by the number each day. I can feel like a feather will knock me over, but a lower number makes me feel strong enough to go on, to conquer the world. I could feel healthy and happy, step on the scale, have gained weight, and my world crumbles around me, an invisible eclipse covers the sun.

So I leave it. Wish me luck. Let us see how I do. My resolution is to leave the scale, take more insulin, and relax. Forget that I have an eating disorder for just a few days.

Good luck to me, as I sit here with a "HI" sugar, glugging Diet Coke.

But I can do it. Once I leave Hell City. Once I leave the darkness and enter the light of a city where no one knows me, I can pretend not to know myself, be someone else...

And being anyone but me is okay by me.

7:53 a.m. - 2004-04-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

dying - living

---------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

Pics

Diabetes & Eating Disorder: Deadly

Kid & Family Pics

Lisa's Site On Eating Disorders

DiaryLand

contact

My Space

random entry

other diaries:

anadoll
cancerblog
just-fine
Enurta
the-thinline
me-destruitt
dissolving
sharpsecret
slightscream
wolfstone
ellemalen
miedema2002
mirrors-lie
freaknuraw
valepuella
susieq22
homerismygod
of-fools
amazinfuckup
cuttingwords
inaptbeauty
writergrrl88
anainsight
sorrowshadow
comfortm
suzza
genuine-risk
destinymaker
tfrunner262
squellot
numb-thepain
mookers
onecutabove
purgingme
xpasdechat
speedofpain
eventhewind
wanting-kind
hellraising
emsgirl13
mylostdream
luxelady
tenebrosity
scarchild
gerg69
emaciana
ethereal-red
infinityfye
somewhat-ok
tenebrosity
crazy4muffin
lostunicorn
onyx-cherub
vomit-stars
whitekachina
pinkcrayon-
rockstarsox
poolagirl
paricouture
anexperiment
simplyrayne
mirroreyes
scotvalkyrie
lead-balloon
rooster24
celticshadow
sylviashadow
bohun
sketty
clotis
prosperpine
silver80
ana-anna
diabetic-ed